Fortnite Season 5 Update Being Prepped With Server Downtime Soon

Fortnite Season 5 is on the way, and that means another big patch is incoming soon. The servers will go down for an indefinite amount of time, and once the staging is all finished the Season 5 changes will finally be revealed.

According to a tweet from Epic Games, the server downtime will begin tomorrow, July 12 at 4 AM ET / 1 AM PT / 8 AM GMT. In a linked Reddit thread, the team also notes that this patch will be larger than normal, and recommends checking to make sure your auto-update settings are on. Plus, be prepared for possible slow download speeds, and save any content you want from your existing replays.

Epic has been dropping hints in the lead-up to the Season 5 launch. Rifts that appeared after a missile launch have been transporting objects in and out of the game world. That includes foreign historical objects popping up out of thin air inside Fortnite, and some Fortnite objects showing up in the real world.

Those clues have led to suspicion that this season will have some kind of time-travel or history theme, which seems supported by Epic’s choices of teaser images. You can check out everything we know so far while we not-so-patiently await to see what’s in store this time around.